Following the decline of the Mughal Empire, the fort was usurped by Gohad dynasty. Maharaja Bhim Singh Rana increased his power and was planning to expand his territories. He marched to Malwa in 1736 but came back and targeted the Gwalior Fort. Marathas were also in race to win the Gwalior Fort. The weak and easy-going Mughal satrap Alikhan, looking to the power of Jats, surrendered the fort to Maharaja Bhim Singh Rana. Meanwhile there was a severe fight between Marathas and Jats to win the Gwalior Fort but Jats won and the Gwalior fort came under Jats. Maharaja Bhim Singh Rana occupied the Gwalior fort from 1740-1756.

In 1756 Marathas attacked the Gwalior Fort under the leadership of Mahadji Sheetole, Yammaji Rahalkar and Motiram Bani with a huge army. Maharaja Bhim Singh Rana was wounded and died in war on Chaitra sudinawami (Ram nawami) in 1756.

The Bamrolia rulers Maharaja Bhim Singh Rana (1707–1756) and Maharaja Chhatar Singh Rana (1757–1782) occupied the Gwalior Fort thrice:

  • 1740 to 1756 by Maharaja Bhim Singh Rana ,
  • 1761 to 1767 by Maharaja Chhatra Singh Rana
  • 1780 to 1783 by Maharaja Chhatra Singh Rana

References :-

  • An Historical Sketch of the Native States of India’, by Col. G B Malleson. Facsimile reprint published by The Acadamic Press, Gurgaon, 1984.
  • V.S.Krishnan : Madhya Pradesh District Gazetteer, Gwalior
  • An historical sketch of the native states of India/Gwalior, by Col. Malleson, p. 143
error: Alert: Content is protected !!