Nawab Kapur Singh Of Singhpuria realized the delicacy of the time. He believed that Ahmad Shah Durrani, though defeated would repeat his exploits. The reason was that he could not establish himself in power in Afghanistan without money. It could not be raised there as the people were extremely poor, and would kill a man for the sake of a few paise. Money could be had only in India. He had seen with his own eyes the weakness of the Mughal Empire when he was in attendance upon Nadir Shah at Delhi. Secondly, Muin-ul-Mulk had the reputation of being a strict person given to discipline and authoritarianism.

As a safeguard against these two impending dangers, Nawab Kapur Singh Virk Of Singhpuria, as a leader of the Sikhs, decided to establish close unity and cohesion among his men, under a younger and powerful leader, who would work according to his advice. The Baisakhi festival fell on March 29, 1748. Ahmad Shah Durrani had left Lahore a few days earlier, while Muin-ul-Mulk was to take charge at Lahore on 1st April, 1748. The Sikh leaders gathered at Amritsar with their bands whose number had grown to 65.

At a solemn function before Akal Takht the entire fighting body of the Sikhs was given the name of Dal Khalsa. The sixty-five groups were leagued together in eleven misls. All the eleven misls were placed under one supreme command of Jassa Singh Ahluwalia. The division of the Dal Khalsa into Budha Dal and Taruna Dal was retained to avoid any conflict between the younger captains and older leaders. The following misls were included in each Dal.

The Budha Dal: Ahluwalia / Kapurthala(AlhuwaliaJat- Kalal), Dallewalia (Khatri , Kang Jats) , Faizullahpuria/ Singhpuria (Virk Jats), Karorasinghia (Virk, Dhaliwal and Sandhu Jats) , Nishanwala (Guron, Gill/Shergill) and Shahid (Sandhu Jats).

The Taruna Dal: Bhangi (Dhillon Jats), Kanhiya (Sandhu Jats), Nakai (Sandhu Jats), Ramgarhia (Tarkhan) and Sukarchakia (Bhatti Jats)

Leave a comment

error: Alert: Content is protected !!